The Making of a Blog

I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for quite some time now. There were two main things that were holding me back.


1. Time. Being a full time student/full time worker doesn’t allow me much time to just write down my thoughts. Twitter’s 140 character limit seems to be the best fit for a busy person who still wanted whoever was willing to listen to hear her.
2. Blog name. I am convinced a blog name really sets the tone for your blog. Many of my friends have blogs and their names have all be creative. They really set the bar high.

In order to successfully start a blog I had to over come the two things that were holding me back. I have decided that I am going to do my best to make the time to blog. As a future Public Relations professional I really need to get this blogging thing down. I recently joined Twitter (follow me @bettybshaw) and LinkedIn so I could become more well rounded. For now, I will treat my blog posts like homework journals or something like that.

The blog name came to me after a couple of weeks of writing down ideas, talking to friends, asking my parents, and doing random google searches. I was sitting next to my husband on Mother’s Day at my parent’s house talking about something I cannot remember. (blog is off to a good start, eh?) And for some reason I told my husband he needed to call me, “Duchess of Windmill.” After it came out of my mouth he looked at me and said, “I think you just came up with your blog name.”

Duchess of Windmill will surprise no one who knows me, especially those who know me well. I am not a self proclaimed Princess, however, the title was bestowed upon me at an early age. I was the only girl sandwiched in between two boys. I am assuming I was often called the Princess to battle the middle child tendencies I had/have. Hello, pay attention to me! Then came the tiara. I didn’t ask for the tiara, but my Aunt and Uncle decided to give me one for my birthday one year. My 21st to be exact. You know what they say, “If the tiara fits…” So, I wore it out and it became a staple item for many birthdays to come. I came to the realization that the only thing I could do for the people was to graciously accept my title. In the Fall of 2010 the dream of having my own “royal wedding” came true when I married, what many people referred to as, my Prince. We bought a house on Windmill Drive, and I was officially then known as, Duchess of Windmill.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

