Edamame Hummus

I wanted to pass on a recipe I have made for two different parties. Both times it has been a huge hit! The recipe came from the December 2010 issue of Self Magazine. Fitness magazines seem to be my favorite source for healthy recipes and motivation these days. Most recipes are quick and easy which is exactly what I need!


I first made Edamame Hummus for my annual holiday party with my high school friends. Self Magazine featured it as a holiday dish due to its color. However, you can really make it year round. I made it again this past weekend for a bachelorette party. The bride’s wedding color is green, so the color worked out really well again.

I hope you enjoy it!

Edamame Hummus
Serves 8; Prep time: 25 minutes

1 bag (12 oz.) frozen shelled edamame
3 whole-wheat pocket pitas (cut into triangles)
2 cloves of garlic
2 tbsp tahini
3 tbsp fresh lemon juice
2 tbsp olive oil
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp black pepper
2 large red bell peppers, cored, seeded, and sliced into strips

Cook edamame in saucepan according to directions on bag. Drain in colander and run under cold water. Pulse edamame, garlic, tahini, juice, oil, salt, cumin, and pepper in food processor until mixture is the consistency of guacamole; add water 1 tbsp at a time if too thick. Cover; refrigerate until party time. Serve with pita and peppers.

*pitas can be baked if you choose.

When I first found this recipe my first thought was, “What the H is Tahini?” So I pass this on to you if you thought the same. Tahini is a middle eastern paste made of ground sesame seeds. It is one of the main components of hummus. I had the best luck finding it at Kowalski’s.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

