Turkey Lasagna

Typically I follow directions well. When it comes to cooking it can be a different story though. I like the freedom of experimenting as I go and using a recipe as guidance instead of an end all be all.

I took my Mom’s traditional, very easy Lasagna recipe and made it my own. I have always loved how simply yummy it is, but it has been fun experiencing with it. She gave me the recipe at one of my bridal showers, and I believe she got it from her mother, my Grandma Rabenort.
Mom’s Lasagna Recipe
Preparation Time: 20 Minutes
Oven Temperature: 350 Degrees
Oven Time: 40 Minutes
Serves: 8 Hungry People
1 Pound Italian Sausage
2 Pounds Hamburger
2-3 Jars Ragu
12 Lasagna Noodles
16 oz. Cheddar Cheese Shredded
16 oz. Mozzarella Cheese Shredded
1 Onion (optional)
Brown Sausage, Hamburger and Onion. Drain and add Ragu. Boil noodles according to package. Rinse in cool/cold water. In 9 x 13 pound layer noodles, sauce and cheese. Cover with tin foil and stick in the oven.
I don’t change the recipe much, but to make it a “healthier” option I use Jenni-O ground turkey. You can find Lean Jenni-O Ground Turkey and Lean Italian Turkey Sausage at your local grocery store. I typically buy a pound of each. You can ground the turkey the same way you would hamburger.
*If you find yourself browning meat often I suggest investing in a Pampered Chef Mix N’ Chop.
Then I like to add lots of veggies. I often add onions and mushrooms. I usually don’t finely chop the mushrooms; just slice them up a little especially if purchased whole. You can really add whatever you want. Peppers are great too!
I also use Newman’s Own pasta sauce instead of Ragu. There are many flavors to choose from as well. Some day I’d like to make my own red sauce, but I just don’t have the time at this point to make that happen.
After some mixing, layering, and 40 minutes in the oven I have a meal the hubs loves! It makes WAY more than we need so I typically freeze some and we eat Lasagna for days. If you don’t want a lot of leftovers 1. cut the recipe in half or 2. invite friends or family over to help you eat it!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Turkey Lasagna

  1. Robdogg says:

    Grandma R would be so happy you made it a bit healthier. I never varied from the original because of all the dairy issues and aversion for fungus (mushrooms) from your brothers and dad. Looks Nummy

Leave a Reply

