Finally, All Done!

Wow, I cannot believe I haven’t posted since February. I was doing so well for a while. The last few months have been a whirl wind. Absolutely amazing. I don’t think I could feel any more blessed than I already do. I posted in January about some exciting changes coming my way, and I am happy to report they are unfolding beautifully before me.

At the end of February my older brother and his wife had a baby girl and named her Lainey. She is by far the most beautiful little girl I have ever seen. I was shocked by the amount of love I had for such a little baby who wasn’t even my own. It scared me a little bit and made me wonder how much love her parents must be feeling.

At the end of April I turned 27. I was able to celebrate with my husband by going to see Mamma Mia at The Orpheum in Minneapolis. I received tickets, as a complete surprise, from Cities 97. I have never loved being a frequent listener so much! We had so much fun on our date night. I am a firm believer that you are never too old to celebrate your birthday.

That same week I finally, yes finally, graduated from college. What a road. I began the journey 2003. I received many W’s. I have an F on my official transcript. I often went home in the winter when I couldn’t find a close parking spot. I was on probation-academic probation. I took multiple semesters “off”. I traveled to Europe twice in one year. I moved far too much. I had many wonderful roommates that taught me so much about life and friendship. I kissed a couple of boys, yes just a couple, and they all resulted in strep throat. I learned an exceptional amount about eyeballs. I worked at the Gap and was paid in clothes. I had a beloved car named Bonnie, until it was replaced by Bonnie, and then Manny. I danced…a lot. I wore pink…a lot. I developed an aversion to vodka. I learned how to drink beer. I cried. I laughed. I was promoted. I wrote a lot of papers. I presented more in front of people than I ever thought possible. I received an Associated of Arts degree. I received a Global Studies certificate. I went on a blind date. I continued to love JT. I became a Godmother. I fell in love. I managed multiple panic attacks and kept my anxiety at bay on many occasions. I survived being “the one at home” over a year long deployment. I made amazing friends. I became a wife. I got a dog. I moved to the suburbs. I tried really, really hard. And finally…I earned my Bachelor’s degree.

And two weeks later, Justin graduated too! He graduated with his Master’s degree from Concordia College in St Paul. We are both so thrilled to be done with school and look forward to what our futures hold. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally, All Done!

  1. Ashley says:

    What a great post! I love it – congratulations Betty! The future sure is lookin' bright!!

Leave a Reply

