Bon Voyage

I am currently sitting in an airport I have never been to before: Charlotte, North Carolina. I have actually never been to either Carolina before. However, there will be no exploring of the Carolinas on this trip. I will be leaving this airport in about two hours with the destination of the Gatwick Airport in London, England. 

I left my house this morning continually fighting off tears but was more than once defeated. The thought of leaving Justin and Selby for more than three weeks became a less than desirable idea. And although I am thrilled and excited to be going on this journey it is still freaking me out. 
I have theories for my emotions of course- hormones, lack of sleep, pushing my comfort zone to the max, the deployment gave me some attachment issues, but I guess it doesn’t really matter. All I know is that I have grown to believe that I can do anything as long as Justin is by my side supporting me. He may not be sitting next to me now (much to my dismay), but I am happy to know he is thinking about me and supporting me from Minnesota. And I very much look forward to when he joins me in Europe in about 25 days! Yay! 
As I continue on my journey to London my goal is to survive my next flight- the much longer leg of my journey. My trip to NC was uneventful and quite quick. It was two and a half hours of reading and fighting off sleep. There was a little turbulence towards the end which made the lady next to me break the third commandment. But in the end, the pilot delivered a very soft landing that I didn’t even notice but very much appreciated.  
So, here is to hoping I sleep a majority of the flight to London, there is very little turbulence, and I feel like it went by pretty quickly instead of watching the clock the whole time!
Good-bye for now, you’ll hear from me when I reach…London, Baby! 

“Don’t be afraid to expand yourself, to step out of your comfort zone. That’s where the joy and the adventure lie.” Herbie Hancock

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

