A Day in Paris

 It turned into a last minute decision to go to Paris for the day last Sunday. I debated back and forth for a while since I had already been to Paris and the train tickets were quite expensive. I knew I wanted to go back,since Paris to date is my favorite city in the world. I talked to Justin and we decided that since I wasn’t able to make the trip to Scotland I should just go to Paris.

There were three of us set to go bright and early on Sunday. Cassie, Alexis and I made it to St. Pancras station with enough time to grab breakfast. We tried to order celebratory mimosas, but we were told it was too early for alcohol. Huh?

The train ride was uneventful and once again I slept through most of it. I was able to wake up just as we went under the english channel though. I tried not to think about it, because the idea of being in a tunnel under water is kind of terrifying.

When we arrived to Paris we were greeted by men dressed in military uniforms equipped with large machine guns. Since it isn’t something we often see in America it made some of us a bit uneasy. After fiddling with the ticket machine for far too long we did end up seeking them out for guidance though. Luckily, one of them spoke fairly good english and we were finally able to get out of the station. We were down to about 5 hours to spend in the city and knew we had to get going. Prior to leaving we decided what we wanted to try to accomplish. We hoped we’d make it to the Eiffel Tower, Arc De Triomphe, the Louvre, Notre Dame, and the Sacre Coeur.

Our first order of business was to find the Eiffel Tower. Of course it isn’t that hard to find, but there are parts of the city where you can’t see it. Once it was located we stopped for some photos.

Paris, My Love

After the Eiffel Tower we headed towards the Arc De Triomphe so we could then head down the Champs-Elysees. Last time I was in Paris you could head to the center of the Arc without any trouble. Now a days you have to pay to do that. 
Cassie & I at the Arc De Triomphe

We strolled down the Champs-Elysees for a bit until we all decided we were very hungry. We stopped on the Champs for lunch and ended up having the worst service of our whole trip. Our waitress eventually just never came back and we actually had to seek multiple people out so the rest of our meal would come and we could then finally leave. We lost a significant amount of time. Luckily, the food was good. However, the service left a bad after taste especially since there is already a stereotype that the Parisians aren’t the friendliest people.

After lunch we booked it to a metro station (underground) so we could go to the Louvre. We didn’t go inside, we simply wanted to admire the architecture of the building- which is really remarkable. 
The Louvre

What Happens When it Starts to Pour and the Wind Picks Up

Trying to Enjoy All The Rain

The Fountain Outside the Louvre Circa 2012

Alex & I at The Same Fountain 2005
After the down pour we quickly realized we were severely lacking time to continue on to our sites. We decided we would attempt to see the Sacre Coeur and then head back towards the train station. The Sacre Coeur is my favorite spot in all of Paris. As we exited the metro stop, which believed to be the closest to the church, we were greeted by the sketchiest area ever! There were quite a few questionable groups of men who fancied Cassie so we decided to go up one more stop. Same thing happened, with just a little less creepiness, but not by much. I am pretty sure I was in that same area in 2005 and it was nothing like that at all. 
Sadly, we never made it because the hike was a bit far and we didn’t want to get stuck in Paris for the night. And we also didn’t want to get ourselves into any trouble with some creepers. We had a bit of trouble getting back into England too. Our customs official asked us quite a few questions and then reprimanded us for not having our study abroad papers with us. It made me wonder if it would have been ok if I would have just said that I was simply traveling. 
Although we didn’t get to see everything we wanted too I think we enjoyed our 6 hours in Paris.
Sorry you didn’t get the bid Paris, and I am also sorry that I am now in love with London as well. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

