For the Bible Tells You What?

Election day is only four days away, and I am one of the least political people you will ever meet. I claim to be a moderate, a centrist, a person who doesn’t believe in career politicians or voting down party lines. I look forward to witnessing the first woman president, but also admire a first lady with a good sense of fashion. And although I don’t typically lose sleep during election season, I find myself constantly thinking about November 6, 2012.

I often wondered if I would ever believe in something so strongly I’d be willing to show up to the capitol to protest. Would I ever waive a banner, hold up a sign, or shout into a megaphone. (side note: Just stop for a second to think about me shouting into a megaphone. Talk about loud!) Turns out the answer is yes.

Minnesota not only will help elect the next leader of what I consider to be the best country in the world, but we will also be voting on two constitutional amendments. One of those amendments is the marriage amendment. An amendment proposed to discriminate and prevent couples of the same gender to marry.

I’ve heard a lot of differing opinions. And let me be the first to tell you that I am fully aware that everyone is entitled to their opinion. And that in America we have something called the 1st amendment- freedom of speech. (fancy that, a constitutional amendment to protect freedom, not limit it.) But let me also be the first to tell you that I have a hard time understanding and accepting an opinion that supports the marriage amendment. Some opinions believe homosexuality is a choice, is unnatural and is an abomination. While others see no harm in letting a couple of the same-sex wed. Love is love, right?

But one of my least favorite opinions is that they cannot support gay marriage because God does not support gay marriage. I am not a bible expert, I don’t attend church every Sunday, or really any Sunday, and some Christians would judge and scoff at that fact alone. But I still consider myself a believer. What I find myself struggling with is why. Why doesn’t God support it and how do we really know? God didn’t write the Bible. It is an interpretation of what people believe God believed. I don’t want to discredit the Bible, because it has a lot of good stuff in there, but isn’t it reasonable to believe that we could have gotten something a little bit off? We’ve all played the game telephone before, and we all know how the game ends.

I also don’t want to try to speak for God during this blog post. He has never visited me in a dream and said, “I actually don’t mind who marries who, as long as they are good people, believe in me, and spread the love.” I just can’t imagine God would discriminate against one of his very own children so why would he ask us to? When my younger brother came out as a gay man one of the first things he said was, “I am afraid God hates me.” It broke my heart. And right now the same people who don’t support gay marriage because of God would say that God doesn’t hate him, because God doesn’t hate anyone. It’s just that God doesn’t support his choices. What choice? The choice my little brother didn’t get to make? The choice to fall in love with a man instead of a woman?

I don’t know about you, but that logic totally seems off. It seems off to think that gay marriage will ruin the sanctity of marriage. What is sacred about it these days anyway? The fact that the divorce rate is through the roof? Is it the domestic violence between wedded partners (don’t worry though, it was at least between a man and a woman). Or is it something else?

I know I may not change anyone’s opinion by writing this. But I also know that it may make someone think a little harder about the issue. Maybe some people are inclined to vote in favor of the amendment because they don’t know anyone who would be directly affected by it. Feel free to introduce them to me. I will be affected, my brother will be affected, my WHOLE family will be affected.

By voting NO on November 6 you will not legalize gay marriage. Nothing will actually change. However, it will allow for this conversation to continue. So please, let us continue the conversation. VOTE NO!!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to For the Bible Tells You What?

  1. Nathan says:

    Just a few thoughts, since you’re a “believer” I think you need to read 2nd Timothy 3:16 it will tell you who wrote the Bible. After that, read Leviticus 20:13 to find out what God really thinks of homosexuality. Last thing… consider that the Bible you’re “believing” in would carry no weight if it weren’t God himself who inspired the text. If you discredit some things in the Bible, you can’t stand or trust or “believe” in anything else that’s written in it.

    • Kirstyn says:

      I would like to start by saying, I don’t ever do this. I have sat back for months and listened to this argument from both sides, while having a very strong opinion, but I don’t like to make waves, I don’t like to tell people what to do and what to believe and I don’t like to become political/religious via the internet/facebook. However, I am a believer and I very much believe that it is time I said something.

      2nd Timothy states: “All scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and and teaches us to do what is right.”

      I believe that this marriage amendment is wrong for many reasons. One primary reason being Jesus. When asked what the most important commandment is, Jesus stated, “love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul and with all your strength. The second is equally important, Love your neighbor as yourself. No other commandment is greater than these.” (Mark 12:30-31)
      Love. We need to love each other. The bible does not say, only love your neighbor if he/she thinks like you, lives like you, loves like you. It just says love your neighbor as you love yourself. Do you believe you have the right to get married, to be with the person you care for, to protect one another, and provide for each other? Then so does your neighbor. Love them, allow them to live their life and make his/her choices. Because the bible also says, “Let the one who has never sinned throw the first stone.” (John 8: 7)
      I’m positive that I am not perfect, and I can only do my best to live the way that believe to be right. I have no right to tell others how they should live. This amendment will allow the constitution to tell every person the RIGHT way to marry, and that isn’t right.

      There are many more reasons that I believe this amendment to be wrong, but if I list them all, it would be a very long post.. .Maybe next time.

  2. Barrett says:

    Good write up Beth. I’m a No vote. It’ll be disappointing if this amendment passes, because it seems to carry some ulterior motives, and it doesn’t make sense that it was ever introduced. I’m not following the logic in making something that would not hurt anyone ‘more’ illegal. If we are going to get into the business of making things ‘more’ illegal I have suggestions. How about we make DWI/DUI’s more illegal, so I can stop reading articles about innocent people getting killed by the idiot with 6 prior DUI convictions? That seems more constructive to me than this proposes amendment……All that said, if we are sharing honest opinions, it was hard for me to read the notion that the Bible has any comparisons to a game of telephone.

  3. Robyn Sandahl says:

    I have started a reply now 6 times. “Mom? does God hate me?” When my son said those words I almost fell to my knees. I wrapped him in my arms and said “NO”!!! God loves you just like he loves me. He is a good and great God that does not pick and choose who he is going to love. Thank God – or surely he would not have picked me so unworthy of his great love.

    I am still trying to figure out the impact of the amendment. If I don’t vote for the amendment, do I risk down the road that a Judge tells me what he thinks it should be instead of society as a whole? If I vote for the amendment am I telling people that I do not believe Gays have a right to love one another and have a relationship with someone they love for a lifetime?

    So much I do not know.

    This I do know. I love my children! All of them. I love the Woman my son decided to spend his life with and the little girl the love they share gave to us. I love the Man my daughter decided to spend her life with and I will love the man my youngest son finds and decides to spend his life with.

    Do I know how will I vote in just 3 short days …..Nope

Leave a Reply

