Forty-Nine

Tonight was our first meeting for the weight-loss challenge my Mom and I signed up for. We were both surprised to see a lot more people there than we expected. It instantly freaked my Mom out. She said, “If there are a lot of people there I am not going.” So I reminded her that everyone is in this together, and they will provide the motivation we need to get this lifestyle change started. She quickly replied, “I don’t need any more motivation!” Then, I kindly reminded her that if we didn’t need any motivation we wouldn’t be signing up for a weight-loss challenge. πŸ™‚

There were a couple of men there who are nutrition coaches, but all of the participants are women. We are starting the challenge a week late, but we aren’t the only ones. We were welcomed and it didn’t even feel like we were “behind.”

Eager to Make a Lifestyle Change!

Eager to Make a Lifestyle Change!

We received our starter packet that included a questionnaire. It was about our food consumption, ie: How much pop do you drink? Do you eat more whole grains instead of white bread, white rice, etc. Needless to say it pointed out a lot of nutritional faults I have. Like the fact that I LOVE white rice. I have been slowly trying to phase it out for quite some time, but it is just so darn good.

After going over the questionnaire as a group we discussed carbohydrates. The good and the bad. It is always a good reminder to hear about how you can balance your carbs, and which ones you need for energy and which ones instantly turn into sugar.

After the class my Mom and I had to do our baselines. This includes a body scan that provides you with things like your basal metabolic rate, your body fat %, how much of your weight is water and muscle, and probably the one thing that shocked me the most, the age at which your body is given your stats. We also took measurements of my chest, waist, hips, right arm and right thigh.

IMG_0503

First Night of the Challenge!

At the end of the challenge the top three people who lose the largest percentage of their body weight wins a cash prize. There is also a prize for the person who loses the most inches that doesn’t make it into the top three.

And like I mentioned before, the number that shocked me the most was the “age” of my body. It came out to be 49! Seriously, 49?! Now, if that doesn’t freak you out, given the fact that my body is actually only 27, I don’t know what will. My Mom’s number also didn’t equal her age. Not even close. So we left knowing that we had a lot of work to do, but we also left with the motivation that we need to carry us through the next seven weeks.

 

This entry was posted in Diet, Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forty-Nine

  1. Pingback: Motivation | Duchess of Windmill

  2. Pingback: And done! | Duchess of Windmill

Leave a Reply

