Baby Steps

By the time I got home last night from our second weigh-in I was too exhausted to post an update. So here goes, with a brief Super Bowl recap…

Our first weigh-in went fairly well. I lost 3.6 lbs and my Mom lost an impressive 5.2 lbs. And while we know maintaining that type of weight-loss throughout the challenge isn’t realistic we of course wanted to continue seeing progress.

Super Bowl Sunday is not the best day to have before a weigh-in. However, having the fear of a next day weigh-in helped me plan my day a little bit better than it could have been. I made sure I fit in a workout and only packed one bottled drink to enjoy at one of the two Super Bowl parties we went to.

Luckily, I have really been doing well making sure I workout in general, but especially on days I know I might be consuming a bit more than I should. I even made sure I worked out prior to our night out last Friday and before the rodeo! So I did a Super Bowl Sunday workout. And my BIC Band held up during an intense TurboFire workout! I am lovin’ them!

photo-64We attended two parties, and although I may have snuck in a few more bites than planned, I feel like I was much improved. Plus who can shove chips into their mouth watching Beyonce? Seriously. Hot. Woman!

Monday’s weigh-in came quick. Especially after a food filled weekend.  I made sure to drink lots of water and really hoped I didn’t gain. That would just be the worst. I didn’t think I did though, I had been really good throughout the week and torched a boat load of calories.

My new employer has a small gym for the employees to use. I stayed after work and tested out one of the treadmills. It was so convenient I might start doing that more often. I hadn’t run since about the end of October so I eased back into it. I alternated walking a quarter-mile/3.0 incline and ran a half-mile/1.0 incline for 30 minutes. I am not a fast runner by any means, but it felt really good getting back into it.

photo-69

 

After my workout I got ready to pick up my Mom for our weigh-in. She didn’t feel like she had the best weekend either so we both arrived a little nervous. When we arrived we found out that not only would we be weighed, but they would also do measurements again. Frankly, I don’t care how much I weigh (just kidding, that is so false), but inches really mean more to me because that really makes a difference in the way my clothes fit.

My Mom went first and she quickly came back and said, “I am going home!” She hadn’t lost anything. She felt very discouraged and angry. We talked it over and found out where she could have done better during her week/end.

Then it was my turn, only .4 pounds lost. Yeek. Not too good, but totally what I expected after my weekend. I felt good though when I was told I have lost an inch off my hips and half an inch off my thighs. Not too shabby if you ask me. Total pounds down = 4 lbs.

My Mom and I (well, mainly me, she was still irritated at this point) left with our fire reignited. I plan on killing it at the next weigh in.

 

This entry was posted in Diet, Family, Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Steps

  1. Pingback: It Got Me | Duchess of Windmill

Leave a Reply

