Lent

Everyone keeps asking me, “Did you give up anything for Lent this year?” It reminds me of when I was a kid and my brothers and I would tell our parents that we were going to give up homework for Lent. Unfortunately, it never worked out.

I wasn’t raised Catholic, although we typically participated in the tradition even though I have no idea where it started. In years past I have given up pop, chips, cookies, and candy. I am sure there have been others, but those are the ones that reappeared each season.

Since I have been candy free for over a year, I couldn’t give up candy. I rarely drink pop, so that wasn’t much of a sacrifice. And frankly, I don’t find myself munching on chips or cookies as much as I used to either. Instead of giving something up, I thought why not add something to my lifestyle that would benefit it?

I decided, and keeping it some what close to a Catholic tradition, that I would have one meal a week that was fish! Yum. We all know fish is good for you, and this would help incentivize me to eat more of it!

photo-79One of my favorite fishes to eat is salmon. I am also just realizing how easy it is to make. It always appeared to be a chore, and my husband isn’t fond of “stinking up the house” with fish, but salmon is actually not a chore, and it is not smelly.

What I do: Scope out Cub, Kowalski’s or another local grocery store or health foods store for a good-looking piece of salmon. I also pair it with a sweet potato…or is it a yam? I am pretty sure it is usually a yam, which is located right by the potatoes.

When I get home I peel and slice the yam or sweet potato and boil it until soft. Mean while, the oven is preheated to 375 degrees. The salmon is prepped with a garlic olive oil and mustard mixture. Basically I just mix like 2 tbsp of olive oil and a couple of squirts of mustard. Usually I use a fancy mustard, like Grey Poupon or a mustard that has seeds in it. I mix it all together and spread it across the salmon and bake for 20 minutes.

photo-80

I mash up the yam or sweet potato, add a little pepper, and I have an incredibly amazing, healthy meal.  I try to throw in some greens as well, like broccoli or something, but sometimes the salmon is enough!

Do you have a favorite salmon recipe?

This entry was posted in Diet, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

