Pure Joy

Do you ever have days that by the time you crawl into bed you feel more full of joy than usual? Well, today was one of those days for me. As I reflect on my day I am quickly realizing that nothing over-the-top or out of the ordinary happened. Simply stated, my life makes me happy.

Ok, maybe I lied a little. Something special did happen today. Justin Timberlake released an album- The 20/20 Experience. Although I was running quite late for work after my Rotary meeting this morning, I still decided to make a quick stop by Target to pick it up. Most of my music purchases nowadays are done online, and a friend of mine commented that picking up a CD was so 1998; but honestly, I kind of wanted to look at the CD insert. I know, how teenage of me. Even when I checked out, only item in hand was a Justin Timberlake CD, and it was only 8:30am, the lady checking me out said, “Oh, you are getting one of those?” Well DUH lady!

photo-85

I also picked up a Skinny Vanilla Latte from the Target’s Starbucks to seal the deal that today was the most fabulous morning of 2013 so far. I enjoyed listening to the smooth tunes of JT for my whole commute. I even spilled my latte in my new (to me) car, but that type of thing couldn’t ruin what I have been waiting for for seven long years.  SEVEN years. Can you believe it has been that long since JT brought his SexyBack (side bar: that is still one of my favorite songs.) with FutureSex/LoveSounds?

I continued to listen to the CD, on repeat, ALL day long. No joke. The office was almost empty so I worked, listened, and swooned the whole day. And if that wasn’t enough I was even reminded by a friend that The 20/20 Experience Volume 2 is due out this November. Bah. I love 2013.

And for a quick, legit review that leaves behind my eternal (He makes me feel 16 again!) love for JT, my initial thoughts were lukewarm. The 20/20 Experience is NOT what you’d expect. It is definitely a different sound than what most JT fans are used to. However, as I continued to listen and hear more and more each time, I decided, I am a forever fan of all works JT.

Yep, couldn’t keep my bias out no matter how hard I tried.

 

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pure Joy

  1. Love this. And no I can’t believe it’s been 7 years. Time flies! It’s so lovely how music can transport us to earlier years. It’s too bad – or maybe good? that “Sexy back” may still remain your number one request for a JT song. Keep us posted.

  2. Pingback: The Little Things | Duchess of Windmill

Leave a Reply

