Hello 2014!

Don’t you just love the feeling of a new year? A fresh start. The opportunity to do things differently. To do them better. Although some of us will lose momentum fairly quickly once their busy lives take over again, I plan to ride the wave for as long as possible.

I have spent the last week or so really thinking about what I want to accomplish in 2014. While I was mulling over some ideas I also realized that 2014 is my last full year in my twenties. In just a few months I will be turning 29 and staring 30 directly in the face. Ok, ok…if I am going to be completely honest in 2014, I didn’t just realize this. I have been thinking about 30 a lot. That is what lead me to develop not only a list of goals, but a 30 before 30 list.

While I was developing the list, I reviewed it with and asked my husband for input. He reminded me that although it is a fun idea to develop a 30 before 30 list, he also wanted to make sure I took a moment to recognize what I have already accomplished. So I did just that. I stopped to reflect on everything I have already accomplished, and while it gives me pride in the life I have lived so far, it also gives me more momentum to make the next year even better than the last.

Screen shot 2014-01-01 at 9.23.46 PM

  1. Read 30 Books – including Little Women. (and yes, the book I finished last night counts towards the total)
  2. Take a Photography Class
  3. Go on a Cruise
  4. Meatless Mondays
  5. Have Dinner With Each of my Immediate Family Members Individually
  6. Lose Weight (No List is Complete Without it!)
  7. Hold a Baby Bear
  8. Write a Letter Once a Week
  9. Blog Once a Week (Lucky You Guys!)
  10. Try a New Recipe Each Month
  11. Do One Craft Project a Month (First One…Happiness Jar)
  12. Go to the MN Zoo
  13. Special Date Night Per Month
  14. Yoga More
  15. Workout 4x Per Week (Should Help Achieve #6)
  16. Go to a Water Park
  17. Figure Out What I Want to do (And Develop my Portfolio)
  18. Less Technology Time (Unplug More!)
  19. Make a Pie From Scratch
  20. Learn About Spices and Herbs
  21. Be Almost Done With my MBA (Can’t Speed That up Even if I Wanted to)
  22. Be Able to do Push Ups on my Toes
  23. Learn Calligraphy
  24. See a Show on Broadway
  25. Go For a Run in Central Park
  26. Master Gluten Free Living
  27. Attend a Cooking Class
  28. Learn to Use InDesign
  29. Take a Trip With The Girls
  30. Have the BEST 30th Birthday Party Ever!

As I head out to embrace 2014 with open arms, I will be keeping these goals with me. I may not be able to complete ever single one by the time I turn 30, but I think it is going to be fun to try.

Also, if anyone has any other fun ideas I am not opposed to adding to my list so feel free to comment or share yours with me. And if you can help me reach a goal (anyone recently find a bear cub?) lemme know! I am sure my list will grow and morph as the days go by, but I think it is a solid start.
 

Here is to a fun and successful 2014!

This entry was posted in 30 Before 30, Books, Events, Family, Fitness, Happiness, New Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello 2014!

  1. Casey says:

    Beth this is awesome! I have my 30 before 30 list almost complete. I may have to borrow #5 if you don’t mind love this idea!!! =) happy new year and cheers to going out of your 20’s being the best you!

  2. Pingback: Where Does The Time Go? | Duchess of Windmill

  3. Pingback: March Craft Day | Duchess of Windmill

Leave a Reply

