A Spiralizing Dream

Do you ever buy some sort of kitchen gadget because you feel like you MUST have it, only to have it collect dust and you basically never use it? Well, I have definitely done that before, and Justin saw the writing on the wall when I asked for a spiralizer! Little did he know how much I’d actually LOVE it!

About two weeks ago we went to Williams-Sonoma to finally spend a gift card we received from his brother and sister-in-law for Christmas. We LOVE Williams-Sonoma and always have so much fun realizing the possibilities for our kitchen. However, we aren’t exactly the high rollers I often wish we were and sometimes things just aren’t in our price range. With the gift card in hand we were set on finding a new, non-stick pan. We invested in All-Clad when we got married, which we love, but they aren’t always the best for just frying up an egg and can be a real mess to clean up. Once we found what we were looking for (a three-piece set on sale!!!) I went on a mission to find the spiralizer of my dreams.

I saw it in one of their mailers and knew I had to have it. However, Justin was quite skeptical. I think he assumed it would take up space and get pulled out once in a blue moon. Sometimes he just has to hear how amazing it would be from someone else, and when the sales gentleman said how awesome it was, he was sold!

Let me introduce you to the Paderno Spiralizer. I have spent the last week (yes, it sat in the box for a whole week before I took it out) trying to spiralize anything and everything. I even thought about how I could spiralize Selby’s food, but quickly realized that was a bad idea and I might break it.

IMG_0420

I’ve been turning zucchini into pretty spirals the most, but have also used it for carrots and cucumbers.

photo 1-3 photo 2-2

I used the zucchini noodles as a side vegetable, but I also used them as a pasta substitute the other night when I made spaghetti. So good and so healthy! I used the cucumbers and carrots when I made spring rolls! I was inspired to try them on my own after we made them at last week’s baby shower!

Just commented last night how surprised he was since I haven’t stopped using it. And luckily it takes no time at all to spiralize a few veggies for the night or the week! Needless to say, this is my new favorite thing! You might want to check it out.

If you have a favorite kitchen gadget, please share!!! And if you have some ideas for me on items to spiralize (I am pretty sure spiralize isn’t even a word, but I don’t care) share those as well!

This entry was posted in Gluten Free, New Experiences, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

