Twenty Fifteen

Happy New Year!!!

That is all…

Just kidding. It is 2015!!! I love the start of a new year. It is full of hope and possibilities. Last night we were in bed by 10:30pm but an unknown neighbor decided to light up the sky shortly after midnight which kept me up and freaked out Selby. I wished Justin and Selby a happy new year and luckily we were fast asleep again.

When I woke up groggy this morning I continued to think about what the new year means for our family. It will probably bring the most change we have ever experienced. More change than the New Year’s Eve I accepted Justin’s marriage proposal and saw him off to Iraq for a year a month and a half later. More change than the first year in our house, the first year of marriage and the first years of our new jobs. This year, we will be welcoming our first child and frankly, that is kind of scary but also very exciting.

We have roughly two months to go (January & February), and I still don’t feel ready, but at least Justin and I have gone through our own struggles and have always come out stronger on the other side. I have no doubt parenting will be the same.

I like to make resolutions and set goals for the year, but I have been struggling to put them into words. And then I opened up my tea packet this morning and saw, “Feel great, act great and approve of yourself.” I think this put my feelings into words so perfectly.

IMG_2274 copy

FEEL GREAT… I do not want to focus on “losing baby weight” in 2015. Of course, I do want to lose the baby weight, but I want so much more than that. I want to start off my life as a mother with a positive body image for myself in hopes that my daughter will develop a positive one for herself. I hear that is tough in the dreaded fourth trimester, but I am determined to feel great in my mind and my body in 2015. This will also include a more concentrated effort to limit my sugar intake, move more, and of course take time to slow down when I/We need it.

ACT GREAT… In 2015 I want to be more compassionate, understanding and patient. I especially want to be this towards my husband since I am sure we will be tried and tried again in 2015. I also want to spend more time with family and feel less stressed about it and just enjoy more. (School doesn’t end until October so I know this will be especially tough.) And I just want to be more gracious, thoughtful and mindful in all that I do.

APPROVE OF YOURSELF… In order to accomplish the other two I need to make sure I approve of myself. When things don’t go as planned I need to be ok with that, re-evaluate and move on. I need to accept that this new year will bring many challenges but will bring more moments of happiness and joy. And frankly, I probably won’t know what I am doing for most of the year but that is ok. I have a good support system, and I am sure we can handle anything that comes our way…like a baby who enjoys independent sleep. 😉

If you are setting your own resolutions, goals or intentions for 2015, I’d love to hear them! Hopefully I can keep up with blogging in 2015 as well so feel free to click the follow button so you don’t miss any of the 2015 shenanigans that I am sure will ensue!

This entry was posted in Baby, Happiness, Marriage, New Experiences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

