London, My Love

A year ago today I was spending my first day in London as a student. I cannot believe it has already been a year. Going to London was not just a fun experience, but it was also an experience that really pushed me out of my comfort zone. I’ve always loved the thrill of traveling, but I had never done it alone.

Experiencing life in a dorm room, and having a closer to traditional college experience than I had ever had before, was really what I was looking for. It was just kind of awkward that it was happening at the age of 27 and as a married lady.

Luckily I was blessed with a lovely 19-year-old roommate who wasn’t a mess and understood my old lady ways. Her innocent, up for anything attitude was inspiring.

The Adventures of Brighton and NighttimeI loved spending some of my days exploring the city by myself. I got a lot of thinking done as I navigated the tube or walked through the beautiful parks. Life can be so beautiful.

IMG_1209

IMG_1452IMG_1442But walking around alone has its negatives. Like awkward selfies.

Me and Buckingham Palace
Me and Buckingham Palace
IMG_1450
Princess Diana Memorial in Hyde Park- So Artsy.
IMG_1645
Hanging on for dear life on the top of St. Paul’s Cathedral.

I had a lot of fun with the other students though as well. Like our trip to Brighton, on the Harry Potter Studio tour, Zoo Late and Silent Disco-ing.

IMG_1291
Harry Potter Tour
IMG_1340
Brighton
IMG_1654
Zoo Late
IMG_1819
Silent Disco

And of course I wasn’t really alone when I arrived to London. My friend Jenny, from high school, was living in London so we had some great times as well. Like when we saw the QUEEN!!!

IMG_1513
My name is Elizabeth too!
IMG_1523
Sweeney Todd

I could go on forever, but I won’t. I will just remember the good times I had, with the good people I met.

IMG_1891
Big Ben
IMG_1374
Regent’s College

Leave a comment